Grow and market a vibrant regional economy

Marketing the Houston Port Region to secure business investment that will maximize economic opportunities and supporting policy that promotes a stable business climate.

Economic Alliance Houston Port Region is a nonprofit business-led organization whose mission for over 35 years has been to grow a vibrant regional economy through economic development.

This effort is supported by public policy, workforce development, transportation/infrastructure, quality of life and thought leadership initiatives.




As the economic development corporation for the Houston Ship Channel Region, we work diligently to represent the unique needs of the petrochemical, maritime, and logistics industries that dominate our area.

This region is home to the world’s second largest petrochemical complex and is the largest U.S. exporting port.

It annually impacts over one million jobs and contributes $178.5 billion to the Texas economy. With more than $35 billion in planned chemical plant expansions in our area over the next five years, these are the good old days.

Never before in our history have we seen the kind of capital investment and job creation we will experience over the next decade. Through efforts in marketing, business development, expansion and retention support, public policy, and workforce development support, since 2011, the Economic Alliance has supported 23 project wins creating over 3,600 jobs and contributing over $3.6 billion of capital investment in the Houston Ship Channel Region.

As the economic development corporation for the Houston Ship Channel region, our business is first and foremost to create and foster an environment where companies can thrive and create jobs.

A healthy and vibrant economy also raises the quality of life we all enjoy.

The strides we’ve made and the successes we have encountered can be directly attributed to the hard work of our wonderful staff and the incredible commitment and contributions from our Board and members. In the end, this region’s ability to prosper is dependent upon a collective will to make it so.

Please utilize this website as your portal to economic development opportunities and solutions in the Houston Ship Channel Region.

Events, committee meetings, networking opportunities, public policy initiatives, member services, economic incentive information, and much, much more can be found here.

Thank you for visiting and we look forward to working with you.

Chad Burke, President & CEO

STAFF and board leadership



VP of Economic Development


Events & Membership Director


Marketing & Communications Director

Heather Carrico

Financial & Administrative Manager


Workforce Development Manager



Chair: Robert Bacon
Treasurer: Dr. Brenda Hellyer
San Jacinto College District

Secretary: Steve Cote
Brady, Chapman, Holland, & Associates
Vice Chair: Ryan Sitton

Vice Chair: Mayor Michel Bechtel
City of Morgan’s Point
Vice Chair: Charles Neal
Kuraray America, Inc.

Vice Chair: Arienne Brent


Buddy Tucker, Ohmstede Industrial Services Inc.
Connie Tilton, ExxonMobil
David Bush, Orion Group Holdings, Inc.             
Elizabeth Fazio Hale, Gulf Coast Authority
Herb Hildebrand, San Jacinto College – Small Business Development Center
Janet Gonzales, Frost Bank
Jim Griffin, San Jacinto College – LyondellBasell Center for Petrochemical, Energy & Technology
Jonathan Schmaltz, McCarthy Building Companies, Inc.
Katie Yount, McDonough Engineering
Kristi Claypool, Meador Staffing Services
Leonard A. Bedell, Mobil Steel International, Inc.
David Szafranski, Enterprise Holdings
Nathanael Ince, Pinnacle
Russell Carter, Bohler Engineering
Brent Cockerham, Moody Bank                                   
Dave Tolson, Arete Advisors
Dennis Winkler, Winkler Public Relations
Dr. Lynda Villanueva, Lee College
John Grimes, LBC Tank Terminals
Brittany Wong, Shell Deer Park 
Marcelo Moacyr, BGE
Paul J. Plauché, MobilOps

Robert Bonner, Diamondback Works
Stephen Kelman, Wood
Dr. Allatia Harris, San Jacinto College
Melissa Wolkenhauer, BIC Alliance
Bryan Wooten, INVISTA                                                  Rina Harris, CenterPoint Energy                                 Steven Massey, Truist Bank
Charles Montgomery, Houston ILA Dock & Marine
Shareen Larmond, West Gulf Maritime Association
Nellie Baktashi, Houston Methodist

Ali MacLeod, BGE
Marcia Faschingbauer, Excargo Services Inc.
Nikki Mason, Covestro
Scott McAlister, Coastal Ice & Water
Captain Clint Winegar, Houston Pilots                      Mark Bookmyer, LyondellBasell                                  Scott Tanley, Turner Industries
Rick Brown, Arkema
Peter Dumont, AG&P Americas                             Aundrea Young, Competitive Choice
Kevin Griffin, Satterfield & Pontikes


​​Mike Lykes, Harris County – Precinct 2                         Port Houston
Mayor Brandon Capetillo
, City of Baytown
Mayor Jerry Mouton
, City of Deer Park
Mayor Esmeralda Moya
, City of Galena Park
Mayor Ana Diaz
, City of Jacinto City
Mayor Louis R. Rigby, City of La Porte                      Mayor Joey McWilliams, City of Mont Belvieu

Mayor Jeff Wagner, City of Pasadena
Matthew Buchanan, City of Pearland
Mayor Thom Kolupski, City of Seabrook
Mayor David Jennings, City of Shoreacres
Mayor Joe Soto, City of South Houston
Tracey Wheeler, Baytown Chamber of Commerce

Paula Moorhaj, Deer Park Chamber of Commerce
Jim Wadzinski, Highlands- Lynchburg Chamber of Commerce
Frances Castaneda Dyess,Houston East End Chamber of Commerce
Margie Buentello, North Channel Area Chamber of Commerce

Cristina Womack, Pasadena Chamber of Commerce
Jim Johnson, Pearland Area Chamber of Commerce
Gloria Greene, South Belt – Ellington Chamber of Commerce